In April 2014, the European Union (EU) and the Council of Europe (CoE) agreed in a Statement of Intent that targeted cooperation activities with Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Republic of Moldova, Ukraine and Belarus - the EU’s Eastern Partnership countries - would be implemented under a ‘Programmatic Cooperation Framework’ (PCF) - renamed the Partnership for Good Governance (PGG) in June 2017.

These cooperation activities will strengthen the capacity of Eastern Partnership countries, which are member States of the Council of Europe with the exception of Belarus; to implement domestic reforms to bring them closer to the standards of the Council of Europe and the European Union in the fields of human rights, democracy and the rule of law.

The budget  (2015-2018) is €36 million. The PGG is funded 85% by the European Union and 15% by the Council of Europe. It is implemented by the Council of Europe.

Five priority areas (or “themes”) of cooperation were identified with the European Union for the PGG. Under these five themes there are 15 sub-themes which lead to 50 country-specific and regional actions.

Cooperation themes Cooperation themes

This website has been produced using funds of a Joint Project between the European Union and the Council of Europe. The views expressed herein can in no way be taken to reflect the official opinion of the European Union.

PGG visual identity
EU Eastern Partnership logo
list of activities list of activities