The Council of Europe is the continent's leading human rights organisation.

It has 47 member states, including the European Union's Eastern Partnership countries: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Republic of Moldova, Ukraine except for Belarus.

All Council of Europe member states have signed up to the European Convention on Human Rights, a treaty designed to protect human rights, democracy and the rule of law.

The Council of Europe also promotes human rights, democracy and the rule of law through international conventions, such as the Convention on Cybercrime. It monitors member states' progress in these areas and makes recommendations through independent expert monitoring bodies.

Each country page provides more detail about its undertakings and progress.